# **Conservation Awards Committee**

**Committee Members:** R. T. Bowyer, J. K. Braun, H. H. Genoways, K. M. Helgen, M. C. Kalcounis-Rueppell, T. E. Lacher, Jr. (Chair), P. D. Moehlman, T.J. O'Shea, B. J. Sewall, W. P. Smith.

## Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

### **Information Items:**

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Hornaday Student Conservation Award. This year there were no nominations submitted for the Hornaday Award. Nominations for the Leopold Award were received and evaluated by the committee, and the recommendation of the committee was reviewed and approved by the Board of Directors. The awardee will be announced at the Annual Banquet in Laramie.

### **Action Items:**

(1) Budget Items: \$250 for the Leopold Award plaque. No funding is required for the Hornaday Award because there is no 2010 nominee.

#### **Respectfully submitted,** Thomas E. Lacher, Jr., Chair (tlacher@tamu.edu)